Early Years Framework

The Early Years Foundation Stage document is a framework that all Early Years settings work to.

The framework provides guidance to help practitioners support young children through the seven areas of learning;

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development
• Communication and Language
• Physical Development
• Understanding of the world.
• Literacy
• Expressive Arts and Design
• Mathematics

The overarching aim of the EYFS is to help young children achieve the Every Child Matters outcomes of:

• Staying safe
• Being healthy
• Enjoying and achieving
• Making a positive contribution
• Achieving economic well-being

The principles which guide the work of all early years’ practitioners are grouped into four themes. The principles underpin effective practice in the care, development and learning of young children.

A Unique Child
Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.

Positive Relationships
Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.

Enabling Environments
The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.

Learning and Development
Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and inter-connected.

Get Sociable
Don't miss a thing, keep up-to-date with all our latest news and events. Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook